Portuguese Biscuits

Don’t yell at me…

I know, I know, I know, it’s only November, but I’m already in the christmas spirit and I really can’t help myself! These heavenly soft Portuguese Biscuits have been a family christmas baking tradition for many years now. I just absolutely had to share them with you! Whenever I do a christmas bake sale, these cookies are always the first to go. And who could resist them? They look just as good as they taste!, it’s a win win!

Even though they do happen to be cute little wreath shapes, they cookies are also great cut out cookies. Just roll them of a lightly floured surface, cut them out and bake them exactly the same. This way you could easily have christmas trees and other festive shapes as well! (These biscuits freeze well so they’re great for getting an early start on christmas baking.)

This recipe was passed down from a close family friend who’s grandmother taught her how to make these. Traditional family recipes are always the best in my opinion! These cookies are also fairly easy, no complicated ingredients and only a few hours of refrigeration time.

They’re so simply delicious that I’m sure you’ll love them just as much as my family does. Let me know what you think!

Here’s the recipe:

Portuguese Biscuits

Ingredients:

–       ½ cup granulated white sugar

–       2 eggs

–       ½ cup margarine (or butter, I prefer margarine)

–       2 cups all purpose flour

–       ¼ teaspoon salt

–       1 teaspoon baking powder

Procedure:

In a large bowl beat eggs with sugar. Add margarine/butter and combine.

In a small bowl, mix flour, salt and baking powder.

Add dry mixture to egg mixture and stir until combined.

Leave in fridge for 4 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven 350 degrees F and line (prepare) cookies sheets. Remove dough from fridge.

Roll tablespoon-sized chunks of dough and roll into long snake-like shapes. Place on baking sheet and overlap both ends of the rolled dough, leaving a little length extra (see pictures for better understanding) creating a wreath/ribbon shape. Continue with rest of the dough.

Bake for 10 minutes, or until bottoms are just beginning to turn golden.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Portuguese Biscuits

  1. Susan @ Travel Blogger Freak November 30, 2012 at 12:03 pm Reply

    Look so delicious… I’ll definitely make this for my family thanks for sharing. one question. can I make this without using eggs. because I don’t like eggs.

    • princessperfectbaking December 1, 2012 at 7:44 am Reply

      You could use an egg replacement, but I don’t think you would get the same results. Give it a shot and let me know how it turns out Susan!

Leave a Reply

